Digital Download

Out of print

I Hear The Singing Ape
September Ember


CD album | gg462
Blaine L. Reininger needs no special introduction. He is an American post-punk, new-wave and alternative pop singer, songwriter, musician, multi-instrumentalist (particularly violin), writer and performer. He is known for being a member of the group Tuxedomoon since 1977 after co-founding it with Steven Brown and, latterly, for a notable music and theatre career, both as a soloist and contributor to other artists' recordings, including The Durutti Column, Snakefinger, Anna Domino, Savage Republic or Paul Haig. After learning the violin and guitar during childhood and studying music theory in San Francisco, Reininger formed with the band Tuxedomoon with composer, singer, musician and college-mate Steven Brown and appeared on early albums such as Half Mute, Desire and Suite En Sous-Sol before departing early in 1983 to pursue a solo career. He permanently rejoined Tuxedomoon in 1988 and has subsequently appeared on more recent recordings such as Vapour Trails, issued in 2007 by independent label Crammed Discs. Ghost Festival is Blaine's all-new album, following up last year's Ocean Planet on Italian label Dark Companion. Like its predecessor, it is a mix of classic Reininger songs and pieces of a more experimental nature. Full tracklist: 1. Nova Chord 2. In Spite Of Lions 3. Decency 4. I Hear The Singing Ape 5. Orphic Melon 6. Nothing In Particulate 7. Felt Like It 8. Still Too Jung 9. Old Man's Buckle 10. Page Of Wands 11. Ghost Festival 12. September Ember 13. Landscape. Price: € 19,-/copy incl. worldwide shipping.

Mit Gitarre, Bass, Violine, Viola, Piano & Keyboards verdichtet er nochmal sein Knowhow mit Tuxedomoon, seine Erfahrungen mit Snakefinger, The Durutti Column, Anna Domino, Karl Biscuit, Benjamin Lew oder Aksak Maboul und die Aura seines Lebenswerks auf Les Disques Du Crépescule und Crammed Discs in 13 weiteren in Abendrot getauchten Rocksongs, ätherischer Melancholie – Nova Chord, Felt Like It – oder schneidigem Synth-Wave.
(Bad Alchemy, April 2024)