Digital Download

Coming soon


THE SURFACE MUTANTS The Total Institution

CD album | gg489
The Surface Mutants were a Sheffield band active between 1979 and 1982. Over these four years, the following people played with the band: Richard Parrot (Sweet Exorcist, Funky Worm), Nort Tron (Hula, Yonni), Pete Brennan, Nigel Manning, Angie Birkett, Christine Parker, Kent Roach, Ian (Beats) Beatty, Henry Fordham, Andy Price, Reverend J Oram and Sim Lister (Chakk). They released only two EPs during their existence: You Take Me Somewhere Strange on Rock Steady Records, engineered by Cabaret Voltaire in their Western Works Studio, and Anaesthetic on Clönic Records, recorded at Cargo Studios. Their sound will appeal to everyone who is into the music of Sheffield during that time: Hula, Cabaret Voltaire, Chakk, Clock DVA or They Must Be Russians. For this CD, the two singles were collected and complemented by several songs that have never before seen the light of day. The album was remastered by fellow musician from the time, Martin Bowes of Attrition. Klanggalerie are very proud to finally be able to offer this lost gem from the 1980s! Full tracklist: 1. Train 2. Dance With Me 3. I'm A Chemical 4. Anaesthetic 5. Souls Will Cry 6. Help Below 7. Provocative Destruction 8. Somewhere Strange 9. Madeline 10. When Are We? 11. Fall Away. Price: € 19,-/copy incl. worldwide shipping.