Digital Download


(No One Leaves The) Fever Car

HULA Murmur

CD album | gg268
Hula were founded in Sheffield in 1981. Three members (Mark Albrow, Alan Fish and Ron Wright) lived with Stephen Mallinder (Cabaret Voltaire) and Paul Widger (They must be Russians, Clock DVA, the Box) in a villa called Hula Kula. After trying the bass players Alan Watt, Chris Brain (Tense, NOS) and Mark Brydon (Chakk, Moloko), and after the replacement of Alan Fish by Nort (both drummed for the Cabs), Hula recorded the impressive album Murmur. Ingredients like cut ups, steady rhythms, and paranoia vocals were blended together into a unique white funky sound. Murmur was the band's second album and came out on Red Rhino in 1984. This was also the time of Hula's great singles - Fever Car, Get the Habit and Walk on Stalks of Shattered Glass were all released around that time. They are all added to the album as bonus tracks here making this CD about twice as long as the original vinyl album. Remastered by Attrition's Martin Bowes and the band's own Nort. First time ever on CD! Full track list: 1. Ghost Rattle 2. Invisible 3. Delirium 4. Pleasure Hates Language 5. Tear-Up 6. Hour By Hour 7. Jump The Gun 8. Red Mirror 9. Cold Kiss 10. (No One Leaves The) Fever Car 11. In The Shoutout 12. Bats Lost.....Bloodrush 13. Hard Stripes 14. Get The Habit 15. Bad Blood 16. Walk On Stalks Of Shattered Glass. Price: € 17,-/copy incl. worldwide shipping.